Switching Sides Like A Gemini

Piece written end of last year

I’m an astrology nut. I know the ins and outs of each sign, what makes them tick, their likes and dislikes, their perks and downfalls, and as soon as I meet a new person, I will undoubtedly query them on their ruling sun sign. Few Capricorn or Scorpios I have dated due to my astrological compatibility.

I have governed many opinions on people and structured many aspects about myself around my twin label, and even dismiss certain peculiarities or quirks as just part of someone’s constellational pull.

So it comes as no surprise that when flicking through social media yesterday I was immediately disarmed by the premise of NASA announcing that there was a thirteenth sign and that all the meticulous dates of our current astrological signs were suddenly wrong.

According to BBC, the star sign Ophiuchus was intentionally left out of the original astrology charts 2000 years ago, despite the sun passing in front of the constellation right after the Scorpio star sign. “The reason for this is not known, but it may be because ancient astrologers wanted to divide the 360 degree path of the Sun in a mathematically pleasing way – 12 equal parts, each one of 30 degrees.”

Claims have arisen from those pesky astronomers at the Minnesota Planetarium Society who have discovered that because of a change in the Earth’s rotation, the location of the constellations were put back by a month.

Whatever the reason, masses of Leos, Aries and Capricorns alike are in an uproar over the sudden existential identity crisis. I can’t possibly be a Taurus. The new dates suddenly mean that 86 per cent of us now have different signs. To suddenly change the basic guidelines about something that to many people is almost a religion, is to uproot not just 2000 years of tradition but the charming little titbits we value about ourselves.

A Gemini sign tattoo glares up at me from my thumb, a symbolic measure taken to display a firm belief in a part of my identity. In fact, there are many others who have Cancer signs tattooed on them or Aquarian key chains, and even Sagittarian number plates! A whole lot of money spent affirming one’s place in the stars.

In retrospect, I’ve probably placed a bit too much stock in the zodiacs, which to some is more fiction than fun. Perhaps I may even adapt a certain amount of Taurean stability to ground my otherwise fickle Gemini side.

However, I won’t be replacing out my current astrological beliefs or bracing myself for laser tattoo removal. Despite the Gemini’s adaptability to change, I stand firm on my belief that nothing will change. Perhaps there’s a little Taurean stubbornness in me after all?

 

 

Friedman, M 2011, ‘Horoscope Hang-Up: Earth Rotation Changes Zodiac Signs’, Time, 13 January, viewed 18 September 2016, <http://newsfeed.time.com/2011/01/13/horoscope-hang-up-earth-rotation-changes-zodiac-signs/>

 

BBC iWonder 2016, Which stars were you really born under?, viewed 18 September 2016, <http://www.bbc.co.uk/guides/zp4fvcw>

Leave a Reply

